Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning


From goodreads: Darkfever (Fever #1) - MacKayla Lane’s life is good. She has great friends, a decent job, and a car that breaks down only every other week or so. In other words, she’s your perfectly ordinary twenty-first-century woman. Or so she thinks…until something extraordinary happens.

When her sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her death–a cryptic message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in search of answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a shadowy realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she had no idea she possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the world of man, into the dangerous realm of the Fae….

As Mac delves deeper into the mystery of her sister’s death, her every move is shadowed by the dark, mysterious Jericho, a man with no past and only mockery for a future. As she begins to close in on the truth, the ruthless Vlane–an alpha Fae who makes sex an addiction for human women–closes in on her. And as the boundary between worlds begins to crumble, Mac’s true mission becomes clear: find the elusive Sinsar Dubh before someone else claims the all-powerful Dark Book–because whoever gets to it first holds nothing less than complete control of the very fabric of both worlds in their hands…

There’s a reason why I love urban fantasy and it’s called FEVER!!! I was consumed by this series, I was knee-deep in a world that was incredibly complex filled with characters that I loved or hated and for a brief time (a little too brief for my liking) I was on a journey alongside the heroine, Mac.

 “Nobody looks good in their darkest hours. But it’s those hours that make us what we are.”

 Mac is an exceptional heroine who is on a journey to discover the truth, her journey captivated me the entire time and I identified with Mac in almost every way, from her love of the color pink to her will to survive. The story is written  in a way that made me feel as if Mac was talking directly to me and she was sharing every detail of her life.  She evolves through this entire series and I never became tired at how she was constantly changing, ultimately growing into someone really amazing.  It’s safe to say I may have a girl crush on Mac!

“When Barrons looks at me like that, it rattles me. Lust, in those ancient, obsidian eyes, offers no trace of humanity. Doesn’t even bother trying. Savage Mac wants to invite it to come out and play. I think she’s nuts. Nuts, I tell you.”

When Mac teams up with Jericho Barrons her life will truly never be the same again. Like EVER.  Barrons is the perfect alpha male I’ve come across and sometimes he does jerky things but he looks out for Mac like no other.  He doesn’t make apologies for who is, you either like him or you don’t and it’s that simple. And what’s refreshing about Barrons is that he doesn’t grow a vagina halfway through the series; he doesn’t talk about his feelings, he doesn’t need to process anything or cry…he’s not a hero and yet, for Mac he is and that’s why he’s pure perfection.

“Last night you said you wanted to know what to expect so you could better select your attire. I told you we were going to visit a vampire in a Goth-den tonight. Why, then, Ms. Lane, do you look like a perky rainbow?”

I could give you every detail about what this story is about but I won’t, just know that it’s brilliant!!  One of the many things that I loved about this series was knowing very little and just when you think you have it all figured out, you don’t. The element of surprise is beyond fabulous and there are a ton of jaw dropping moments that will leave shocked!  It’s light on the romance in the first two books but the chemistry between Mac and Barrons is palpable.

“I am a kite in a tornado but I have a long string. There is tension in my line. Somewhere, someone is holding onto the other end and, although it cannot spare me this storm, it will not let me be lost while I regain my strength.” 

Fever is a slow building series, nothing is rushed and there’s a reason for every detail and everyone has a purpose for who and what they are.  Every book gets better and better and the story is written exceptionally well.  The foreshadowing is brilliant; Karen Marie Moning weaves a plot filled mystery and Irish folklore that will leave you on the edge of your seat!  I dare you not to love this series because yes, it’s that good. ;)

Darkfever (Fever #1)



Bloodfever (Fever #2)



Faefever (Fever #3)



Dreamfever (Fever #4) 



Shadowfever (Fever #5) 





  1. Sarah S. says

    Challenge accepted lol! What a great review Cristina! I can feel how much you loved it through your review. You don’t get this excited about a book unless it’s exceptional.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>