All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392From Goodreads:

The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor and Park in this exhilarating and heart-wrenching love story about a girl who learns to live from a boy who intends to die.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning!
 
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

Review…

I always thought that crying because of a book was lame. I thought that one or two tears were acceptable but all out crying because of a book and something that didn’t actually happen was stupid.

So, here I am, wiping my tears away and trying not to wake up my whole house with my angry, heartbroken sobs.

The fact of the matter is that this book needs to be read. Regardless of the hype and the comparisons between TFIOS and E&P. This book is so unbearably real.

It talks about depression and grief and guilt and loneliness in such a poignant way that you sometimes forget this is a work of fiction. 

Finch is certainly an amazing character. He’s so multi-faceted. Even when you’re reading the book from his perspective you realize he’s so difficult to read. He’s like a Prism, taking light and reflecting it to make things more beautiful than it was before. 

Violet is a broken girl. And yet she’s not. Violet is the girl who keeps moving because she has to. I loved reading from her point of view because I sometimes believed I was her. 

I don’t think I’ve ever related so much with a book as I do right now. I saw myself in Finch, I saw myself in Violet, even in Violet’s parents, and Finch’s mom.

I think what I also liked about this book is the fact that it featured family relationships. It featured so many different types of it. From the perfect, storybook family, to the angry, broken one.

This book is so precious. It feels like a living thing. Like I need to go back into the story and give it all the attention it deserves.

I don’t know what else I can say about this book because I think any pretense of ‘normalcy’ in my review went out the window a long time ago. Just do yourself a favor and read it. 

5stars

addtogoodreads

 

amazon review button

LoveMarianne

Comments

  1. says

    I’m so glad you loved this! I have to admit that I had some issues with it, but I love that the book moved you. Have you heard the buzz over the upcoming book My Heart and Other Black Holes? It appears to have similar subject matter and advance readers are going gaga over it. I’ll be interested to hear your opinion of it!
    Ellen @ Quest Reviews recently posted…Girl In the Arena ReviewMy Profile

  2. says

    I loved this book so, so, so much! I stayed up until 2 am one night reading it and was sobbing. I also felt the need to wake my husband up and tell him I love him. Weird, right? But I did not give in to that impulse. He would probably think I was crazy . . . at least crazier than I already am. Haha
    Cynthia recently posted…BOOK REVIEW: Blubber by Judy BlumeMy Profile

  3. Tricia says

    I’ve seen this one around but didn’t know much about it. Now, I’m very curious & need to check this one out!! I loved both TFIOS & E&P & definitely want to read more books like those! Awesome review, thanks for sharing! :-)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge